EuroSys 2023
May 8th-12th 2023

EuroSys Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Gustavo Alonso (ETH Zürich)

Jochen Liedtke Young Researcher Award

  • Pramod Bhatotia (Technical University of Munich)

Roger Needham Ph.D. Award

  • Ben Gras (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) for his thesis: Side Channel Security Risks in Commodity Microarchitectures
    Ghada Dessouky (Technische Universitat Darmstadt) for her thesis: Flexible Hardware-based Security-aware Mechanisms and Architectures
  • Honorable Mention:
    Antonios Katsarakis (The University of Edinburgh) for his thesis: Invalidation-based Protocols for Replicated Datastores

EuroSys Test-of-Time Award

  • Omega: flexible, scalable schedulers for large compute clusters
    Malte Schwarzkopf (Brown University), Andy Konwinski (Perplexity AI), Michael Abd-El-Malek, John Wilkes (Google)
  • BlinkDB: queries with bounded errors and bounded response times on very large data
    Sameer Agarwal (Berkeley), Barzan Mozafari (MIT), Aurojit Panda (Berkeley), Henry Milner (Berkeley), Samuel Madden (MIT), Ion Stoica (Berkeley, Conviva)

Best Paper Awards

  • OFence: Pairing Barriers to Find Concurrency Bugs in the Linux Kernel
    Baptiste Lepers (Université de Neuchâtel), Josselin Giet (ENS), Willy Zwaenepoel (The University of Sydney), Julia Lawall (Inria)
  • Dissecting BFT Consensus: In Trusted Components we Trust!
    Suyash Gupta (UC Berkeley), Sajjad Rahnama (University of California, Davis), Shubham Pandey (University of California, Davis), Natacha Crooks (UC Berkeley), Mohammad Sadoghi (University of California, Davis)
  • Chipmunk: Investigating Crash-Consistency in Persistent-Memory File Systems
    Hayley LeBlanc (University of Texas at Austin), Shankara Pailoor (University of Texas at Austin), Om Saran K. R. E. (University of Texas at Austin), Isil Dillig (University of Texas at Austin), James Bornholt (University of Texas at Austin), Vijay Chidambaram (University of Texas at Austin, VMware Research)

Gilles Muller Best Artifact Awards

  • Fail through the Cracks: Cross-System Interaction Failures in Modern Cloud Systems
    Lilia Tang (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Chaitanya Bhandari (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Yongle Zhang (Purdue University), Anna Karanika (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Shuyang Ji (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Indranil Gupta (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Tianyin Xu (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
  • Fast and Efficient Model Serving Using Multi-GPUs with Direct-Host-Access
    Jinwoo Jeong (Ajou University), Seungsu Baek (Ajou University), Jeongseob Ahn (Ajou University)

Distinguished Artifact Evaluator Award

    Andrés Sánchez‬ (EPFL)
    Moritz Lumme (Technical University Dresden)
    Konstantinos Papaioannou (IMDEA Software Institute)

Best Poster Award

  • Dynamic Graph Sampling Service for Real-time GNN Inference at Scale
    Jie Sun (Zhejiang University), Li Su (Alibaba Inc), Wenting Shen (Alibaba Group), Zichao Zhang (Alibaba Group), Zuocheng Shi (Zhejiang University), Yong Li (Alibaba Group), Wenyuan Yu (Alibaba Group), Zeke Wang (Zhejiang University), Fei Wu (Zhejiang University), Jingren Zhou (Alibaba Group)